Christian Coleman and Shericka Jackson upset world champions to win 100m Diamond League titles – Eurosport

Christian Coleman and Shericka Jackson upset the reigning 100m world champions to become this year’s Diamond League trophy winners on Saturday.

There were some extraordinary performances at Hayward Field on Saturday, as the qualifiers from the previous 13 Diamond League meetings this year came together for the final in Eugene, Oregon.

2019 world champion Coleman made up for his disappointing showing at last month’s World Championships as he took the men’s 100m title by equalling the world-leading time of 9.83 seconds.

It is the second time in two weeks the 27-year-old has achieved that feat, having won in 9.83 seconds at the Xiamen Diamond League meeting on September 2.

The American beat his compatriot – and current world champion – Noah Lyles, who finished second, fractionally ahead of Kenya’s Ferdinand Omanyala with both men timed at 9.85 seconds.

Despite claiming two world golds in Budapest last month, Sha’Carri Richardson had to settle for fourth in the women’s 100m as 200m world champion Jackson won with a time of 10.70 seconds.

Ivory Coast’s Marie-Josee Ta Lou came second (10.75) and Jamaica’s Elaine Thompson-Herah third (10.79).

British pair Dina Asher-Smith (10.96) and Imani Lansiquot (11.01) finished seventh and eighth.

In the women’s 1500m, Britain’s Laura Muir was denied a third Diamond League title – despite running her second-fastest career time – as Faith Kipyegon put in another superb performance.

The Kenyan broke three world records this summer, and came close to breaking her own 1500m record when she pulled away from the pack on the final lap.

The 29-year-old finished in 3:50.72 to win her fourth Diamond League title, with Ethiopia’s Diribe Welteji second (3:53.93) and Muir third in 3:55.16.

Norway’s young long-distance star Jakob Ingebrigtsen won the men’s mile in three minutes 43.73 seconds, the third fastest time in history.

The 22-year-old finished ahead of American Yared Nuguse (3:43:97) and Britain’s George Mills, who achieved a personal best time of 3:47:65. Ingebrigtsen will also contest the 3,000m on day two on Sunday.

There was disappointment for Britain’s world silver medallist Matthew Hudson-Smith in the men’s 400m, as he pulled up with an injury on the back straight.

The race was won by Grenada’s former world and Olympic champion Kirani James, the 31-year-old clocking a season’s best of 44.30 seconds.

American duo Quincy Hall (44.44) and Vernon Norwood (44.61) came second and third respectively.

There was an upset in the men’s 400m hurdles as world and Olympic champion Karsten Warholm failed to win consecutive races for the first time since 2018.

The Norwegian led going into the final straight, but American Rai Benjamin burst past him and Kyron McMaster to win with a world-leading time of 46.39 seconds.

The Olympic Games will return with Paris 2024, live on Eurosport and discovery+.

Read the full article here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.